Books

Warcross by Marie Lu

For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn’t just a game – it’s a way of life. Struggling to make ends meet, teenage hacker Emika Chen works as a bounty hunter, tracking down players who bet on the game illegally. Needing to make some quick cash, Emika takes a risk and hacks into the opening game of the international Warcross Championships – only to accidentally glitch herself into the action and become an overnight sensation. Convinced she’s going to be arrested, Emika is shocked when she gets a call from the game’s creator, the elusive young billionaire Hideo Tanaka, with an irresistible offer. He needs a spy on the inside of this year’s tournament in order to uncover a security problem . . . and he wants Emika for the job. Emika’s whisked off to Tokyo and thrust into a world of fame and fortune that she’s only dreamed of. But soon her investigation uncovers a sinister plot, with major consequences for the entire Warcross empire.

Every since I read the description for Warcross a few months back, I have been wanting to read the book so much. Then when reviews started to be posted and they all mostly had very high praise for the book, the hype and my anticipation increased. I knew I was going to love this book, but it surpassed all my expectations. I have now added this book to my favourite reads of the year.

I really like the character of Emika. Just like the story she is new and refreshing which makes this book even more interesting to read. I connected with Emika straight away and I really enjoyed reading about her. She is a strong and determined person, and really wants to help Hideo. The chemistry between Emika and Hideo feels very real and I did like them both as characters, but when they are together interacting, it’s amazing to read.

This is the first book I have read that Marie Lu has written. I have her other two series sitting on my self itching to be read but for some reason I never got round to reading them. But now I have read Warcross I will definitely be checking her other books out because I think her writing is amazing. It’s so easy to read but it’s also rich and full of detail and excitement. I honestly couldn’t put this down, and when I had too I really missed reading it. With her writing she manages to bring everything to life and give everything depth, whether that’s the characters or the story. You can visualise everything in your head while reading and even though some aspects of the plot are futuristic you are still able to see it come to life.

Before starting I knew I was going to love the story because it sounded so interesting and different from what I’ve been reading recently. I really liked that it was set in Tokyo because I haven’t read many books that are set there and it was a welcome change. But one of the main point of the story that I loved was the Warcross game. It felt like something we could all have in the not so distant future and we could have tournaments and games like in the book. I think that’s another reason why I liked this book so much because it has that hint of realism. When it came to the Warcross game that’s where I found the book really difficult to put down, it was so exciting and interesting to read about this new technology and it did make me hope that perhaps we did have something like Warcross in the future.

I would highly recommend this book to every reader that wants a book they can just sit down and get lost in. The world, the characters and the plot are all written and thougout beautifully and once you start you will not want to stop reading, even when you get to the end. I could of done with another 100 pages of this book, but I am happy that there is a sequel on the way. Hopefully it won’t be that long until I can dive back into this amazing world.

stars 1stars 1stars 1stars 1stars 1

I rate this book 5/5 stars 

1 thought on “Warcross by Marie Lu”

  1. Pingback: October Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

