Books

December Wrap Up

 

I have not read as many books in December as I have in previous months, but all the books I have read this month have been fantastic. I managed to start re-reading one of my favourite series and managed to finish a series I’ve been trying to finish for a while. I didn’t manage to read all the books I put on my TBR but I am happy with what I did manage to read in such a busy and hectic month.

 

Northern Lights by Philip Pullman

I have not read Northern Lights for a while now and after reading it this month I have to say I have missed the world and its characters. Even though I have read this book no end of times I can never get bored of reading this series.

My review will be posted soon

I rate this book 5/5 stars

starstarstarstarstar

 

The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman

I listened to The Subtle Knife on audiobook and it was brilliant. The audiobook is told using an entire cast of actors and it makes it so more engaging to listen too. It made me like the book even more than I did originally did.

My review will be posted soon

I rate this book 5/5 stars

starstarstarstarstar

 

Cogheart by Peter Bunzl

I cannot praise this book enough, I absolutely loved it. From the alternative Victorian Britain setting to the beautiful created characters, I loved every minute reading this and would recommend it to everyone.

Cogheart Review

I rate this book 5/5 stars

starstarstarstarstar

 

Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

After hearing so many great reviews about this book, I was excited to start it. After reading it I have to say it does not disappoint. It had me gripped from the first page to the very last. It has suspense, tension and intrigue all written beautifully by the author.

My review will be posted soon

I rate this book 5/5 stars

starstarstarstarstar

 

What Light by Jay Asher

What Light is the perfect book to read over the Christmas holidays, it has everything you need in a good book. This is my first Jay Asher book and I enjoyed it so much I will be checking out other books by the author.

My review will be posted soon

I rate this book 4/5 stars

starstarstarstar

 

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

I was so lucky to be given a proof copy of this book and as soon as I got it I wanted to start it straight away. I have to say that it took a while for me to get used to the world and the writing but once I got past the first quarter I really enjoyed it.

My review will be posted soon

I rate this book 4/5 stars

starstarstarstar

Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

After starting the second book at the start of 2016, I wanted to finish the series this year and reading Library of Souls as my last book of the year sounded a bit fitting. I really enjoyed getting back into the Peculiar world and I thought that it was a great end to the series.

My review will be posted soon

I rate this book 5/5 stars

starstarstarstar

Favourite Read of the Month

My favourite read of December has to be Cogheart by Peter Bunzl. After reading some of the five star reviews I was a little concerned whether the book would live up to all the hype. But after reading this book I can truly say that from start to finish this book is magical and full of heart and worth all the hype. If you have not read Cogheart yet, you should definitely go and read it you will not be disappointed.

 

What was your favourite read from December?

Leave a comment