Books

Books I want to read in 2017

This year I have bought so many books. I have bought so many books that I needed to buy another two bookcases to store all of my books. The only problem with buying so many books is that you don’t get time to read all the new books you bought. This is definitely the case for this year because my TBR pile has grown in size rather than shrink in size.

I have searched all the books I haven’t read and have chosen five books that I really want to try and read in the first half of 2017.

 

Vicious by V.E. Schwab

Victor and Eli started out as college roommate81qgc511qqls brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same ambition in each other. A shared interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong. Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl with a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the arch-nemeses have set a course for revenge but who will be left alive at the end?

I have read the first two books of the Darker Shade of Magic series and This Savage Song, all by V E Schwab, and I absolutely loved them all. I got this  book in the summer and I said to myself I would have it read in a couple of weeks, but its still waiting to be picked up. The description for the book sounds amazing and I love reading V E Schwab’s writing, so I’m determined to read this early on in 2017.

 

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

51nln7yvmnl

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. The black sign, painted in white letters that hangs upon the gates, reads:
Opens at Nightfall
Closes at Dawn
As the sun disappears beyond the horizon, all over the tents small lights begin to flicker, as though the entirety of the circus is covered in particularly bright fireflies. When the tents are all aglow, sparkling against the night sky, the sign appears.
Le Cirque des Rêves
The Circus of Dreams.
Now the circus is open.
Now you may enter.

I have heard so many amazing things about this book that I have no excuse for it still being left unread. The description for the book is really mysterious and it makes me want to pick it up straight away, but from reason I just keep forgetting about it. I just hope that I get round to reading it in 2017 and then I will be able to see what everyone has been raving about.

 

Tales of the Peculiar by Ran51nudfaervlsom Riggs

In this collection of fairy tales, Ransom Riggs invites you to uncover hidden legends of the peculiar world. A fork-tongued princess, a girl who talks to ghosts, and wealthy cannibals who dine on the discarded limbs of peculiars are just a few of the characters whose stories will have you hooked. Featuring stunning illustrations from world-renowned artist Andrew Davidson, this compelling, rich and truly peculiar anthology is the perfect gift for fans – and for all lovers of great storytelling.

I have yet to finish the Miss Peregrine’s Home of Peculiar Children series, but hopefully I will be reading the last book in the next couple of days. I would like to read this book while the series is still fresh in my mind and part of the world. So hopefully I get round to reading this in January.

 

The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

51a99tea6ilHERE IS A SMALL FACT – YOU ARE GOING TO DIE
1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier.
Liesel, a nine-year-old girl, is living with a foster family on Himmel Street. Her parents have been taken away to a concentration camp. Liesel steals books. This is her story and the story of the inhabitants of her street when the bombs begin to fall.
SOME IMPORTANT INFORMATION – THIS NOVEL IS NARRATED BY DEATH
It’s a small story, about:
a girl
an accordionist
some fanatical Germans
a Jewish fist fighter
and quite a lot of thievery.
ANOTHER THING YOU SHOULD KNOW – DEATH WILL VISIT THE BOOK THIEF THREE TIMES

Again this is a book that has had such amazing reviews and everyone raves about it, but I have not picked it up yet. I know this book will be emotional and I think I can never find the time to read such an emotional book, I just think I need to bit the bullet and sit down one day and read it from cover to cover.

 

S. (Ship of Thesus) by J J Abrams and Doug Dorst

One book. Two readers. A world of mystery, menace and desire. A young woman picks up a book left behind by a stranger. Inside it are his margin notes, which reveal a reader entranced by the story and by its mysterious author. She responds with notes of her own, leaving the book for the stranger, and so begins an unlikely conversation that plunges them both into the unknown. 

THE BOOK: Ship of 71krygumzylTheseus, the final novel by a prolific but enigmatic writer named V. M. Straka, in which a man with no past is shanghaied onto a strange ship with a monstrous crew and launched on a disorienting and perilous journey.

THE WRITER: Straka, the incendiary and secretive subject of one of the world’s greatest mysteries, a revolutionary about whom the world knows nothing apart from the words he wrote and the rumours that swirl around him. 

THE READERS: Jennifer and Eric, a college senior and a disgraced grad student, both facing crucial decisions about who they are, who they might become, and how much they’re willing to trust another person with their passions, hurts and fears.

I picked up this book after it showed up on my Recommended reads list and once I read the description I immediately bought myself a copy. I think this will be like nothing I’ve read before with all the different items and materials scattered throughout the book. As well as reading annotated notes and reading the actual text, this sounds like its going to be an awesome read. Even if it will take some time to completely read it all, I am excited to start.

 

Hopefully I get round to reading all these books early on in the New Year just so my TBR pile decreases a little.

What books have you bought and still not read yet?

Have you read any on my list? If so which book should I read first?

Leave a Reply

